Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

X

Navigate / search

FAQ

Garrison Crossing, located in Chilliwack B.C., is a LEED-ND project developed by CLC.


Q: “Will you respect your previous terms of reference for the redevelopment of Rockcliffe?"
A: Terms of Reference are being drafted in collaboration with the City of Ottawa and other key stakeholders.  In addition to reflecting the previous Terms of Reference, now that CLC owns the Rockcliffe lands, these Terms of Reference will also provide for the submission of a Community Design Plan to the City of Ottawa for approval, which CLC was not able to do prior to ownership.  The Terms of Reference will also reflect current conditions and changes that have occurred since previous consultations.  The Terms of Reference will reinforce overall sustainability principles and will provide for the achievement of sustainability goals in the context of present and projected environmental concerns, infrastructure requirements, economic conditions, social needs, market trends, and site constraints.

Q: “What about your previous consultations with the community – are you going to respect the opinions expressed and take them into account in drawing up your plan?"
A: We will certainly draw from the extensive body of work gathered from previous consultations.  With the length of time that has passed however, a fresh consultation process with the community is necessary.

Q: “Sustainable development was a high priority the last time you consulted the public.  Will you be abandoning that emphasis on sustainability this time around?”
A: CLC will maintain the over-arching philosophies and broad principles of sustainable development that the public has supported in previous consultations.  Throughout the Rockcliffe Community Design Plan process, CLC will strive to attain sustainability goals by re-examining, updating, and testing previous and current planning concepts and designs in relation to environmental, social, economic, urban planning, and infrastructure approaches. 

Q: “The last time you looked at redeveloping Rockcliffe, local residents had a lot of traffic concerns about your plans. Are you going to do a better job this time around about traffic issues?”
A: CLC has engaged the services of professional transportation planners and engineers.  In collaboration with the City of Ottawa and other agencies involved in transportation planning, CLC will explore different ways of managing traffic impacts.  Options may include different transportation network designs, alternative modes of transportation other than the private automobile, or various land uses and densities.  The public will have the opportunity to review different development options through the consultation process.

Q: “How will you assure the security of the property, so that it doesn’t become a haven for drug dealing and other illicit activities?”
A: CLC maintains the property as a secure site that is not open to the public.  Most of the structures on the site have already been demolished.  CLC employs the services of a security firm that conducts regular site patrols seven days a week. 

Q: "Will the fences around the property come down to give the public access to the site?"
A: Prior to development, CLC will maintain the property as a secure site that is not open to the public.  This necessarily means that the fences must remain in place for the time being, to ensure public safety and security. Once development occurs, the public will have access to significant open spaces and public areas.

Q: “Is there any environmental contamination on the site?”
A: Yes, however this is very manageable.  The Department of National Defence and CLC are conducting environmental remediation and site clean-up operations on an ongoing basis.

Q: “How do your plans fit into the City of Ottawa’s official plan?”
A: The City of Ottawa Official Plan designates the former CFB Rockcliffe as a Community Development Area, which requires that a Community Development Plan (CDP) be prepared and approved for the entire Rockcliffe site prior to any other municipal approvals for rezoning, subdivision, site plans, or development.  The Rockcliffe CDP will set out the broad framework for those subsequent, more detailed planning applications and approvals.  For example, the Official Plan maintains policies to achieve intensification on this site and other designated Community Development Areas within Ottawa’s urban boundary.  All plans prepared by CLC will conform with the City of Ottawa Official Plan.
 
Q: “How will you determine whether the Rockcliffe development is truly sustainable?”
A: CLC uses a number of tools to evaluate whether our developments are achieving sustainability goals. Most importantly, we track a variety of performance indictors through what we call our “Balanced Scorecard,” which is one of our performance measurement tools. The company’s Balanced Scorecard measures both financial and non-financial performance. CLC’s Balanced Scorecard has 33 financial and non-financial organizational performance targets, measured by 69 metrics. Each target pertains to one of six key objective areas: engaging communities, developing sustainably, valuing people, managing the environment, contributing to society, and strengthening business operations.

On certain CLC projects, we have received external recognition through the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) programs, such as our projects in Calgary, Edmonton, Chilliwack and Burnaby. Whatever evaluation methods are used, CLC is committed to achieving best practices in sustainable development at Rockcliffe.

Q: “Are you going to include a research park or museum in your vision for Rockcliffe?”
A: The NCC has considered the development of a new museum on the NCC lands immediately to the north of the CLC Rockcliffe lands.  Commercial development and employment uses may be incorporated into the Rockcliffe Community Design Plan, subject to further market analysis of the potential in Ottawa for the development of new commercial, business park, research park, and other employment uses.  Consideration of such development will also include the community views we receive through our public consultation.  CLC will need to be responsible for the long-term viability of Rockcliffe and the surrounding communities.  Proper planning and marketing should ensure that lands designated for particular uses will be developed in a timely manner..
 
Q: “What can you tell me about the AOO-CLC participation agreement?”
A: The participation agreement is a progressive approach to the CFB Rockcliffe land transfer and represents a win-win-win solution for the Government of Canada, the AOO, and CLC.  The positive discussions and cooperation among all parties concerned have allowed the development to proceed.  The Participation Agreement between CLC and the AOO provides for cooperation between  CLC and the First Nation as follows: commemorative opportunities; the AOO recognized as a community of interest within CLC's public consultation toward the development of a plan; and the AOO having the opportunity to acquire lots or blocks under the municipally-approved plan, as that plan is implemented. 
 
Q: “How many jobs will your redevelopment effort create?”
A: It is premature to evaluate the job creation potential of the Rockcliffe redevelopment.  Future job creation will depend upon factors such as global economic and real estate market conditions over time and the extent and progression of development phasing.  The Community Design Plan (CDP) to be approved by the City of Ottawa will propose a phasing strategy, which will influence the rate of development and construction activity on the site.  The CDP will also propose the amount and location of employment uses to be developed at Rockcliffe, which would in turn determine the amount of long-term employment to be sustained in and around the community.  These factors will require further planning, consultation, and market analysis before reasonable employment forecasts can be generated.

Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

X

Navigate / search

FAQ

Q: “Respecterez-vous les anciennes modalités concernant le réaménagement de Rockcliffe?"

A: Des modalités sont actuellement rédigées, en collaboration avec la Ville d’Ottawa et d’autres intervenants clés. En plus de refléter les anciennes modalités, maintenant que la SIC est propriétaire des terrains de Rockcliffe, ces modalités incluront également un cadre permettant la soumission d’un plan de conception communautaire pour approbation de la Ville d’Ottawa, ce que la SIC ne pouvait pas faire avant de devenir propriétaire du site.

Ces modalités reflèteront également les conditions actuelles et les changements qui se sont produits depuis les consultations précédentes. Les modalités renforceront les principes généraux de durabilité et incorporeront des objectifs de durabilité dans le contexte des enjeux environnementaux actuels et prévus, des besoins en infrastructure, des conditions économiques, des besoins sociaux, des tendances du marché et des contraintes du site. 

Q: “À propos des consultations communautaires dans le passé – allez-vous respecter les opinions qui avaient été exprimées, et en tenir compte dans la préparation de vos plans?"

A: La SIC consultera certainement les résultats considérables des consultations précédentes. Cependant, il y a plusieurs années que ces consultations ont eu lieu et il sera donc nécessaire de renouveler la consultation communautaire.

Q: “Le développement durable était une grande priorité la dernière fois que vous avez consulté le public. Comptez-vous abandonner cet accent sur la durabilité durant la nouvelle consultation?”

A: La SIC maintiendra les philosophies très importantes et les grands principes de développement durable que le public a appuyés au cours des consultations précédentes. Tout au long de la démarche du plan de conception communautaire, la SIC s’efforcera d’atteindre les objectifs de développement durable  en réévaluant, en mettant à jour et en faisant l’essai de concepts et de modèles précédents et nouveaux reliés aux approches environnementales, sociales, économiques, d’urbanisme et d’infrastructure. 

Q: “La dernière fois que vous avez tenté de réaménager Rockcliffe, des résidents locaux étaient préoccupés par la circulation qui résulterait de vos plans. Allez-vous faire mieux cette fois-ci, à propos des inquiétudes concernant la circulation?”

A: La SIC a retenu les services d’ingénieurs et de spécialistes en planification des transports. En collaboration avec la Ville d’Ottawa et d’autres organismes impliqués dans la planification des transports, la SIC explorera divers moyens de gérer les impacts de la circulation. Les options à l’étude pourraient inclure divers modèles de réseaux de transport, des transports autres que les véhicules personnels ou d’autres utilisations des terrains et autres densités. Le public aura la possibilité d’examiner les diverses options de développement, dans le cadre du processus de consultation.

Q: “Comment allez-vous assurer la sécurité du site, pour qu’il ne devienne pas un refuge pour le trafic de stupéfiants et d’autres activités illicites? ”

A: La SIC maintient la sécurité du site, qui n’est pas ouvert au public. La plupart des structures sur les lieux ont été démolies. La SIC a confié à une entreprise de sécurité le rôle de surveillance, qui est assuré par des patrouilles régulières du site, tous les jours. 

Q: "Est-ce que les clôtures qui entourent la propriété seront éliminées, pour donner au public l’accès au site?"

A: Avant l’aménagement du site, la SIC en maintiendra la sécurité, car il  n’est pas ouvert au public. Il est donc nécessaire de conserver les clôtures pour le moment, afin d’assurer la sécurité publique. Lorsque le développement sera mis en route, le public pourra accéder à de grands espaces de verdure et des lieux publics.

Q: “Le site est-il contaminé? ”

A: Oui, mais c’est une situation qui sera  corrigée. Le ministère de la Défense nationale et la SIC poursuivent des opérations de nettoyage environnemental du site sur une base continuelle. 

Q: “Comment vos plans s’insèrent-ils dans le plan officiel de la Ville d’Ottawa? ”

A: Selon le plan officiel de la Ville d’Ottawa, l’ancienne BFC Rockcliffe est désignée secteur de développement communautaire, ce qui nécessitera la préparation et l’approbation d’un plan de conception communautaire (PCC) pour la totalité du site Rockcliffe et ce, avant l’obtention de toute autre approbation de nouveau zonage, lotissement, plan du site, ou aménagement. Le PCC de Rockcliffe formera un cadre général qui servira de base aux étapes suivantes de planification plus détaillées, de demandes et d’approbations. Par exemple, le plan officiel maintient les politiques visant l’intensification du site et d’autres sites désignés secteurs de développement communautaire dans les limites urbaines d’Ottawa. Tous les plans préparés par la SIC devront être conformes au plan officiel de la Ville d’Ottawa.

Q: “Comment allez-vous déterminer que le développement de Rockcliffe sera vraiment durable?”

A: La SIC a recours à divers moyens d’établir si ses projets d’aménagement respectent ses objectifs de durabilité. Mais surtout, nous surveillons des indices de rendement inclus dans notre Tableau de bord, qui font partie de nos outils d’évaluation du rendement. Le tableau de bord de la Société mesure le rendement financier et non financier. Cet outil comporte 33 objectifs de rendement financier et non financier de l’organisation, qui sont évalués à l’aide de 69 mesures. Chaque objectif relève d’un des six domaines clés : impliquer les collectivités, développer durablement, valoriser les gens, gérer écologiquement, contribuer à la société et renforcer l’exploitation de la Société.   

D’autres projets de la SIC ont obtenu la certification Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED), notamment à Calgary, Edmonton, Chilliwack et Burnaby.  Peu importe les méthodes d’évaluation, cependant, la SIC s’engage à appliquer des pratiques optimales de développement durable à Rockcliffe. 

Q: “Allez-vous inclure un parc de recherche ou un musée dans votre vision pour Rockcliffe?”

A: La CCN a étudié l’aménagement d’un nouveau musée sur les terrains de la CCN, immédiatement au nord des terrains de Rockcliffe de la SIC. L’aménagement commercial et l’emploi sont deux utilisations des terrains qui peuvent être incluses dans le plan de conception communautaire de Rockcliffe, en fonction des résultats de nouvelles analyses du marché d’Ottawa en matière d’aménagement commercial, de parcs commerciaux, de parcs de recherche, et d’autres secteurs d’emploi. Ce genre d’aménagement sera aussi étudié lorsque nous recueillerons les commentaires de la communauté, durant la consultation publique. La SIC devra veiller à la viabilité à long terme de Rockcliffe et des quartiers environnants. Des travaux de planification et de commercialisation appropriés devraient permettre de désigner des terrains pour des usages particuliers et seront élaborés en temps utile

Q: “Pouvez-vous nous décrire l’entente de participation entre les AO et la SIC? ”

A: Cette entente de participation est une approche progressive de transfert immobilier de la BFC Rockcliffe, et constitue une solution gagnante pour le gouvernement du Canada, les AO et la SIC. Les discussions positives et la collaboration de toutes les parties concernées ont permis de procéder à ce projet. L’entente de participation entre la SIC et les AO définit la collaboration entre la SIC et la Première Nation comme suit : possibilités commémoratives; reconnaissance des AO à titre de communauté ayant des intérêts dans la consultation publique de la SIC en vue de l’élaboration d’un plan; et la possibilité pour les AO d’acquérir des lots ou des blocs au titre du plan approuvé par la ville, à mesure que ce plan est mis en œuvre.  

Q: “Combien d’emplois locaux résulteront de votre effort de réaménagement?”

A: Il est trop tôt pour évaluer le potentiel de création d’emploi du réaménagement de Rockcliffe. La création de futurs emplois dépend de facteurs comme la conjoncture économique mondiale, et les conditions du marché immobilier local dans le temps, de même que du calendrier et de l’échelonnement des phases d’aménagement. Le plan de conception communautaire (PCC) qui sera approuvé par la Ville d’Ottawa proposera une stratégie d’aménagement par phases, ce qui affectera le rythme de l’aménagement et de la construction du projet. Le PCC proposera aussi la quantité et l’emplacement des secteurs d’emploi qui seront aménagés à Rockcliffe, ce qui établira alors le nombre d’emplois à long terme dans le quartier et aux environs. Ces facteurs exigeront une planification, des consultations et des analyses de marché plus poussées avant d’être en mesure de produire des prévisions raisonnables d’emploi.